In childhood we all come across a saying

You have an attentive staff, gourmet quality food and a comfortable room. Now, imagine that hotel is floating along a quiet canal. Instead of sitting at a sidewalk cafe and planning your next adventure, The MU-X has plenty of interior space you are already on the move. Sip a glass of wine as you cruise by vintage villages, cultivated fields and age-old vineyards.Your hotel barge has its own Captain and crew, including a gourmet chef and a designated tour guide and driver. This all inclusive experience includes arrival and departure transfers, all meals, beverages and tours. Your plane ticket and crew gratuities are all you have to worry about.The C’est La Vie carries a maximum of eight passengers, with a crew of five. This means a more intimate travel experience and more personalized attention. Get to know your fellow cruisers in a way you just can’t on a cruise ship carrying thousands. The barge gives you much more personal space and a more relaxing cruise experience. Another wonderful option you have with barge cruising is to charter the entire vessel for your group or family. For one glorious week you have your own private floating villa taking you from one scenic Burgundy village to another.It can be funny how one thing leads to another. A couple weeks ago I was organizing my pantry late at night (doesn’t everyone organize the pantry late at night?) and pulled out a bottle of molasses.

The molasses got me thinking about gluten free gingerbread houses, molasses cookies and then, oddly enough, pumpernickel bread. I was sure I had read in one of my many cookbooks that one of the ingredients that contributes to the dark intensity of pumpernickel bread was molasses along with unsweetened chocolate. Hmmm, low and behold right next to the bottle of molasses was a can of unsweetened cocoa powder. And so it began… pantry organization was abandoned in favor of midnight bread baking.While waiting for the bread to bake I started thinking of what I would like to eat on my gluten free pumpernickel bread and the obvious choice was butter. But I was out of butter. Hmmm, could I make butter?I am no farm girl – in fact my father took me his grandparent’s farm once, the whole way there he spoke lovingly of fresh milk right out of cow. My husband who spent summers at a relative’s farm also waxes poetic about milk straight from the cow. Well, I had a taste and let me just say this – I am pretty sure that the person who discovered drinking milk straight from the cow was probably the same person who invented the word “yuk”! The milk was warm and tasted like grass.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

